Back to top

FDCPA Laws in New Hampshire

Stop The Harassment

You have legal rights. We can help.

 

Being harassed by third-party collectors can be irritating and draining. Some of their tactics are based around frequent and annoying modes of contact, such as calling you frequently or at odd hours. It can even get to the point where some third-party collectors will attempt to contact people who aren’t authorized to discuss your debt.

This behavior is unacceptable, both in Nebraska and across the nation. Under the Federal Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA), third-party collectors are not supposed to be engaging in this kind of harassment. It needs to stop, and it starts with you. Gather the evidence you need to file a claim, and consider contacting an FDCPA attorney who can help you with the next steps.

New Hampshire’s Debt Collection Protections

The FDCPA will likely offer more protection than New Hampshire’s debt collection laws. However, knowing the state’s statute of limitations on certain debts may help you determine whether you should be able to file a claim.

Harassed in New Hampshire?

In New Hampshire, the statute of limitations on contracts and open accounts is 3 years. This means that after 3 years, the collector should not be attempting to use the state’s resources to bring action against you and your debt.

The FDCPA and Your Claim

Under the FDCPA, third-party collectors aren’t allowed to engage in unconscionable harassment to collect on a debt. There are specific behaviors that are banned under the FDCPA. The Act prohibits third-party collectors from doing the following:

  • Calling you before 8 a.m. and after 9 p.m. in your time zone
  • Calling you repeatedly or leaving you multiple voicemails
  • Using profane or vulgar language
  • Continuing to contact you after you’ve sent them written communication asking them to stop
  • Contacting someone who is not authorized to discuss your debt with them

There are many other behaviors that are prohibited under the FDCPA, so there’s no need to worry if the harassment doesn’t take the form of the aforementioned examples. Familiarize yourself with the protections that you get under the FDCPA and contact an attorney to see if you should file a claim.

Talk to An FDCPA Attorney Today

Much of this process can be confusing and exhausting. This is because it’s difficult to file a claim by yourself, manage your emotions while you’re in the midst of being harassed, and work and maintain your life’s other moving parts.

This is one of the many reasons that contacting an FDCPA attorney could be helpful. Since an attorney has the skills to win your case and the time to pursue it on your behalf, you can relax with the knowledge that your case is in capable hands. Additionally, you don’t have to worry about paying your attorney upfront. FDCPA attorneys normally work on a contingency fee basis, which means that you’ll only have to pay them if you win your case.

With an FDCPA attorney, you will have someone devoted to seeing you win your claim and getting the harassment to stop. You will have an ally and an advocate that will help you finally release some of your worries.